Over The Hill Cycling Club Notes 15th October 2017

This weekend saw the club head on the annual end of year trip. The Dungarvan Park Hotel was our base for the weekend. The group departed the hotel mid morning and headed east out of Dungravan. Mike Horgan treated members to an outstanding display of bike handling skills on the cycle path chicane in Abbeyside. Declan Brady led the group up the drag to Bridgie Terries. Little did Deccie know, but he was to loose his crown as club crank later in the day. The road leveled off as far as Lemybrien, where the group swung off for Carrick On Suir. The wind assistance was much appreciated as the group reached Carrick in quick time. Some members were anxious to have a crack off Seskine Hill on the outskirts of Carrick. Road captain, Mick O'Leary took one look at the hill, and decided it wasn't steep enough. 

After a brief stop to let a funeral pass, the group turned south and headed for Portlaw and on to Kilmeaden. O'Donnacha's in Kilmeaden was the venue for lunch after 55km. Members were well looked after here and enjoyed the good food on offer. The group split into three after lunch. Donal Scannell led the first group onto the Greenway. Peter Power led the second group back via the coast road, Peter's local knowledge proving to be invaluable. Brian Atkinson and Cathal Gannon  led the third group. Tom O'Sullivan ensured that this group got lost, a move that saw him clinch the club crank award later in the evening. 
A refueling stop was made at O'Mahony's Pub in Durrow, a very popular watering hole on the Greenway. Tales of great cycling feats were regaled over a few bottles of pop. The final 10kms rolled downhill to Dungarvan and finished what was a very enjoyable spin in ideal weather conditions. Bikes were stowed away before dinner. Members were served a top class meal by the staff at the Park Hotel Dungarvan. This proceeded the annual club awards. 
Chairman, Cathal Gannon recalled some of the highlights of the year, before thanking the club members who contributed to what was a very successful year. Medals were presented for the predict your time winners, with Alan Heffernan taking the award for fastest time. Unfortunately, Alan was not present on the night to accept his award due to a cracked finger nail. The club wishes the Heff a speedy recovery. Mike Horgan deservedly took home the award for most improved beginner. Mike has impressed members with his determination, despite some setbacks during the year. David Atkinson took the award for most improved cyclist. The recipient of club member of the year was Donal Scannell. Following the awards ceremony, the Dungarvan nightlife was sampled. The weekend was a great success and a big thank you to everyone who contributed. A special thank you to the excellent staff at the Park Hotel Dungarvan. We will be back. 
Sunday morning saw Pat McHugh and Brendan Coakley tackles the St. Finbarrs CC cyclocross at Fota. The lads put in great performances in very testing conditions, improving on their results from the previous week. Next week sees normal club spins resume, leaving Watergrasshill Village on Saturday morning at 8.00am and Sunday morning at 9.00am.